The Helen Schaible International Sonnet Contest is free and
awards cash prizes to winners.

Linda Wallin © 2017

Linda Wallin © 2017

The 2019 Helen Schaible International Sonnet Contest

New this year: A “Modern Sonnet” category


Sonnet Contest Winners’ from Prior Years  ➞


#1 Traditional Sonnet – Shakespearean or Petrarchan

#2 Modern Sonnet

Open to All. Free. Enter only one poem in either Category #1 or #2, or both. The entries must be original and unpublished. Poets can only win in one category.

Submit 2 copies per category, typed, double-spaced, on standard 8 ½ x 11 paper with name, e-mail, telephone number and address on one copy in the upper left corner. Put no ID on the second copy. Specify which category (#1 or #2) and which sonnet type (Shakespearean, Petrarchan, or Modern) on both copies in the upper right corner.

PRIZES for BOTH CATEGORIES: First Prize: $50. Second Prize: $35. Third Prize: $15. Three Honorable Mentions, Unranked.

There is no fee. Winners will be notified by November 1, 2019. The poet keeps all rights. No entries will be returned. A list of winners will be posted on the Poets & Patrons website,

All rules printed here. Rules do not change from year to year, but the chairperson may, so check the rules on our website at

Mail entries, postmarked by September 1, 2019, to Caroline Johnson, Helen Schaible Contest Co-Chair, P.O. Box 469, Willow Springs, IL 60480.